Not so Cool!

A momentous day cause I purchased my long awaited Polaroid SX-70. A limited edition, Impossible Project refurbished Ojaga design from Japan. Truly beautiful, with stars and all, fit for a box of magic.

Still this post isn’t about the Ojaga SX-70. It’s about my first encounter with Impossible’s new Cool film.

It’s a strange thing to write about because I guess I always knew that there would always be a number of factors playing into the success of this cartridge of film. A brand new refurbished camera, my first experience with my SX-70, learning about how to use the ND filter for Impossible 600 film – add all this to the uncertain nature of Impossible’s film to begin with, and you can see the trouble ahead.

Perhaps this is why I’m partly pleased with my results and pretty convinced that there’s tons of potential for this new cool film, despite not having great shots to show for them.

I started the first frame with a shot of my wife and daughter in a coffee cafe, having forgotten about SX-70’s ability to prolong exposure in low light, the result, a blurry image as below in Frame 1.

Frame 1: Weenee and Prudence at Soho Coffee cafe

Things then took a turn for the worst when the next shot got stuck in the camera due to there being excessive glue near the part of the SX-70 where the film would be ejected. I was to be careful of this as the people in Japan, had been a bit too enthusiastic while applying the glue to their own custom coat of leather to the camera.

Things didn’t get better when the ND filter (they type you place over the film pack within the camera started to come loose. You can see the effect in Frame 3 where you actually get a pretty good test sample of a partial ND filter image and what the difference is between using one (and not) in a SX-70 shooting 600 film. This led to another jam, when the ND filter got caught in the following shot.

Frame 3: ND Filter – With or Without You

The best shot of the pack was Frame 5 which I took of Prudence at the playground in the fading light of an evening. It’s really nice and shows the composition and focus potential of the SX-70, but it can also be noted that by this time, I was totally fed up with the malfunctioning ND filter and the result is a photograph that has mute color tones. I can only imagine how much richer it would have been with a proper filter in place.

Frame 5: Prudence at the Playground

Next up, more ND filter experimentations and the beautiful gold frame silver shade.

