First Color Pack – Mistakes with First Flush

After my initial success with Silver Shade, I decided to try out a pack of Impossible Color film. I thought I had done my research, but apparently I didn’t do enough. I didn’t realize till after I left the shop that my first pack of color film was a pack of First Flush, perhaps one of the first ever batches of films produced by The Impossible Project. I was disappointed with myself for not realizing this earlier and my disappointment was about to be confirmed and compounded with the following shots that followed.

Overall, I’m actually quite happy with the color tones, as several others have reviewed online. But I was really disappointed at the lack of sharpness and the amount of undeveloped patches.

My favorite shot from this batch is Frame 2, Weenee and Prudence. It is a lovely soft toned shot that has real character, but spoilt by a very aggressive undeveloped patch.

Frame 2: Weenee and Prudence

Frames 3 and 5 illustrate a big problem with undeveloped patches and while I am again happy with the shots and composition, I consider it important to document how undeveloped patches can occur in Impossible film. By the end of this film pack I was consciously shooting wider shots with lots of headroom in the anticipation that my shots would come out with large patches. Of course by Murphy’s Law, by the time I did that, frames 6 – 8 had little of such issues.

 

There are also lessons to be learned and practiced with shielding Impossible Film. The film is very light sensitive and it is very well documented that they have not yet perfected the “fixing” part of it, which means the first second the film is ejected from the camera is the most vital and one in which you must perform some kind of Judo martial arts to make sure the film is not exposed to light as much as you humanly can, failing which you end up with highly over-exposed shots. I’m not sure how much this contributed to my washed out color tones from an evening at the beach or whether the issue was with First Flush itself.

 

